Round 6 Reserves Match Report

Yarra OG:     12.2-74

MHSOBFC:  15.11-101

The undefeated Unicorns headed out to Doncaster Reserve to meet with Yarra Old Grammarians. The Bushrangers were keen to make amends after failing to kick a major against Whitefriars the week previous. Both teams started undermanned with late call ups and withdrawals occurring.

Yarra started the better of the two teams with some disappointing pressure from the Unicorns leading to easy disposal into the Bushrangers forward 50. With some big, experienced players down there, Yarra capitalised leading the first break 5.1 to 3.1.
The swirly breeze made conditions difficult, and what looked to be the scoring end proved to be more difficult to kick towards. Melbourne High begun to win more of the contested possession in the 2nd and got on top with the forward entries.

The highlight of the game was produced by Bernard “Crumb Catcher” Pretty, reeling in a contested ball one handed amongst a number of Yarra defenders, pirouetting, and sealing the goal on the turn. Unfortunately, more injuries marred a better quarter to the High, with the key one being a nasty broken arm to club stalwart Nic Huett.

After the long break the Unicorns began to break free from contests, Alex Barbas and Tony Tran fed Ryan Brock the ball at will, with Brock’s Finishing skills being put on show. Ben Hennessy marshalled the backline and repelled most Bushrangers thrusts forward.

The last quarter followed a similar pattern to the 3rd with the High having the bulk of the entries. One performance to note was from stand in Ruckman William Rebakis, who played a fantastic game against a number of quality opponents. The Unicorns ran away with the win.

A more consistent performance will be required in the coming weeks to ensure we are able to perform at the level required to mix it with quality opposition like Whitefriars, who Melbourne High faces off against in 3 weeks.

Goals: R. Brock 6, L. Ferris 2, M. Bradshaw 2, A. Barbas 2, W. Hart, B. Pretty, W. Rebakis
Best: R. Brock, A. Tran, B. Hennessy, W. Rebakis, O. Gilbert, S. Hayes