Best and Fairest and award winners for 2011

Congratulations to Heath Taylor on winning his third senior best and fairest. Jimmy Tran had a break out year following a couple of pre-seasons at Collingwood and took out the Reg Fairchild award for the players’ player.

For details on all the other award winners, please read on.



In a tough season for the 1s, Heath Taylor was named Club Champion for season 2011.

Heath’s performances were outstanding, and his award was extremely well deserved. Heath dominated voting – his 118 votes placing him well clear of second placed Jimmy Tran on 63. Steve Villani’s fine form prior to his season ending hand injury was rewarded with third place. Matt White and Tim Harper rounded out the top five.

It was Jimmy and Heath who also dominated the Reg Fairchild award for players’ player, but this time it was Jimmy with his nose in front. Heath finished second, with veteran Tony Cassell in third place.

Jimmy was also awarded the prestigious Albon-Betheras award for best senior player under 21 years of age

A full list of all the votes for the seniors is available here.


In the reserves,  Joel Kitely held off a fast finishing Marcus Gehling to win the 2s best and fairest. Joel’s 76 votes were enough to win the award, from Marcus on 52. Ryan Czwarno snuck in to third place despite spending the majority of the year in the seniors, with Chris Wright and Mark Ham rounding out the top five.

The top three in the 2s B & F were also the top three in the players’ player award, however this time it was Marcus’s turn to grab a trophy. He took out the award from Ryan, with Joel in third place.

A full list of all the votes for the reserves is available here.

Under 19s

In the under 19s, Daniel Emuitis put up his hand as a star of the future. In a year in which he made his senior debut, Daniel took out the best and fairest for the unders with 94 votes, 16 clear of another player to watch, Mark Santomartino. Ollie Miles, who also made an impact in the senior side during 2011 finished in third place ahead of Rex Gavan and Jake Duell.

Rex’s consistency and willingness to put his head over the ball was rewarded with his winning of the players’ player award for the under 19s. Rex won the award in a tight battle from Sam Hayes and Pete Melilli

A full list of all the votes for the under 19s is available here.


As recognition of the tireless behind the scenes work that goes on to run a football club such as Melbourne High School OBFC, the following awards were also presented.

Sam Silberberg

Melbourne High School OBFC’s most prestigious award, the Sam Silberberg ,is given to the most outstanding club person of the season. In 2011 the choice was unanimous. Kris McDonald’s dedication to to the club in 2011 was, fantastic. His work went far beyond his role as club Treasurer. The hours or work Kris put in to ensure the clubøs off-field viability was justly rewarded with the Sam Silberberg.

President’s Award

The President’s Award allows the club president to recognise and reward a person who has made an exceptional contribution to the club. In 2011 club president Dean Comer chose to recognise Doug Lee.

In 2011 Doug was a tireless supporter of the club. From organising a successful coterie evening, to running the canteen, to invaluable financial contributions, Doug’s efforts to ensure that Melbourne High School OBFC remains a fantastic football club were priceless.



This entry was posted in General, Reserves, Results, Seniors, Under 19's. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.